Hindi Alphabet 13 vowels and 33 consonants

learn hindi

Hindi Alphabet 13 vowels and 33 consonants. The standard Hindi alphabet, as officially declared by the Government of India. It has 11 vowels and 35 consonants in Hindi language alphabet.

Therefore, the traditional Hindi alphabet is consist of 13 vowels and 33 consonants.

surprisingly , you should know that ‘The letters अं [am] and अः [ah] are counted as vowels in traditional Hindi and it counted as consonants in standard Hindi.

Relation with Devanagari script – Hindi Alphabet 13 vowels and 33 consonants

The Modern Hindi is discovered in Devanagari script, which is concatenated of two Sanskrit words: Deva, meaning ‘God’ and Nagari, meaning ‘of urban origin’. Devanagari got its root in Brahmi script. Writings in Brahmi script from across the Indian subcontinent date back to the 5th century BC. More than 10 Indian languages emerged from Brahmi.

Hindi Alphabet 13 vowels and 33 consonants table

11 vowel in standard Hindi
11 Standard Hindi vowel
11 Standard Hindi vowel

Two other vowels which included in traditional Hindi language

  1. ड़ [rr]
  2. ढ़ [rh]

Two letters ड़ [rr] and ढ़ [rh] which are counted as consonants in the standard Hindi. including these there are 13 vowel in Traditional Hindi.

Hindi Alphabet 13 vowels and 33 consonants